Skip to content

Academic Advisors for Undergraduate Students

Our advising team is here for you, offering a variety of appointment types (in-person, video, phone). Walk-in hours are also available the first two weeks of the semester in select departments. Please visit the departmental web site or select the book appointment now tab for schedules and availability.


Communication

Emphases in Strategic Communication, Journalism, CommSHER (Science, Health, Environmental, and Risk Communication), and Communication Studies, and minors in Media Studies and Strategic Communication (for non-Communication majors)

 

English

English and English Teaching Major and Minor, British Studies Minor, and Creative Writing Minor

 

 

History

History and History Teaching Major and Minor

 

International and Area Studies

Asian Studies, International Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies, and Peace & Conflict Studies

 

 

Linguistics

Linguistics Major & Minor, Computational Linguistics Certificate, and Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages Certificate

Addison Eckhoff

Addison Eckhoff, M.A.

2327 LNCO
addison.eckhoff@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

 

 

Philosophy

Philosophy BS or BA & minors in Philosophy, Applied Ethics, Cognitive Science, and Medical Humanities

 

 

World Languages and Cultures

Majors in WLC-Arabic, Chinese, Classics, WLC-Comparative Literature, WLC-Cultural Studies, French, German, WLC-Italian, Japanese, WLC-Korean, WLC-Persian, WLC-Portuguese, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish

Minors in Chinese, Classics, Comparative Literature, Cultural Studies, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Religious Studies, Russian, and Spanish

Also advises for language placement and BA language requirement

Olivia Davis

Olivia Davis, B.A.

1400 LNCO 
olivia.davis@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

 

Writing and Rhetoric Studies

Writing & Rhetoric Studies Major and Minor, Certificate in Professional and Technical Writing, and First-Year Writing Courses

 

 

College of Humanities Student Support

Karen Schaeffer

Karen Marsh Schaeffer, M.A.

Director of Student Success and Engagement

Petition, appeals, engagement, outreach and recruitment

CTIHB 106
karen.marsh@utah.edu

Current U of U students

Future Students & Others

Cameron Vakilian

Cameron Vakilian, M.S.Ed.

Director of Advising 

Internships/Careers, Humanities Ambassadors, Orientation, and Outreach.

CTIHB 104
cameron.vakilian@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Justin Nistler

Justin Nistler, M.S.

Bridge Advisor - General Education Petitions
2400 LNCO | (801) 585-5092
justin.nistler@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Anna Chuaqui

Anna Chuaqui

Humanities Honors Advisor
Kahlert Village STEM Tower, RM 1328

a.chuaqui@honors.utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Karleton Munn

Karleton Munn, M.A.

Humanities Honors Advisor
Kahlert Village STEM Tower, RM 1328

k.munn@honors.utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Anna Cushing

Anna Cushing

Learning Abroad Coordinator - Incoming & Outgoing Exchange Programs

Union, RM 159

anna.cushing@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Jordan Lopez

Jordan Lopez

Learning Abroad Coordinator - Advisor for Humanities Faculty-Led Programs

Union, RM 159

jordan.lopez@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Sarah Nguyen

Sarah Coldiron Nguyen

Learning Abroad Coordinator - Advisor for Utah Asia Campus & Affiliate Programs

Union, RM 159

s.nguyen@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

Steven Burge

Steven Burge

Student Success Coach

(385) 867-0127

steven.burge@utah.edu

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT NOW

 

Last Updated: 2/20/24