Skip to content

John R. Park Debate Society Wins Seven Events at Season Opener

The John R. Park Debate Society traveled to Powell, Wyoming for the 50th Annual Trapper Rendezvous to begin its 2019-2020 competitive season on September 20-21. Among the team’s many accomplishments, five students walked away with top honors in seven different events, culminating in the Debate Society winning the 1st Place Overall Award. The team will look to expand on its strong start to the season when it travels to Lewis & Clark College in Portland, OR in October.


Overall Awards

1st Place - Tournament Sweepstakes

Individual Event Awards

1st Place - After-Dinner Speaking - Ben Jensen

1st Place - Communication Analysis – Chris de Freitas

1st Place – Extemporaneous Speaking – Katie Workman

1st Place – Impromptu Speaking – Chris de Freitas

1st Place – Informative Speaking – Amanda Shepherd

1st Place – Poetry Interpretation – Vivian Lee

2nd Place - After-Dinner Speaking - Zac Ray

2nd Place - Communication Analysis – Grace Osusky

2nd Place – Extemporaneous Speaking – Grace Osusky

2nd Place – Informative Speaking – Ben Jensen

3rd Place- After-Dinner Speaking- Jared Lange

4th Place – Impromptu Speaking – Ashton Poindexter

5th Place – Dramatic Interpretation – Zac Ray

6th Place – Prose Interpretation – Zac Ray

Debate Awards

1st Place - IPDA Debate – Amanda Shepherd

3rd Place – NPDA Debate – Ashton Poindexter & Chris de Freitas

3rd Speaker – Open BP – Vivian Lee

4th Place – BP Debate – Leo Doctorman & Vivian Lee

5th Speaker – Novice BP – Grace Osusky

5th Speaker – NPDA Debate – Chris de Freitas

Semifinalist – BP Debate – Katie Workman & Grace Osusky

Last Updated: 6/1/21