Skip to content

John R. Park Debate Society Dominates Western States Communication Association Invitational Tournament

In a brief break from the winter weather, the John R. Park Debate Society traveled to Arizona State University in Phoenix, Arizona for the Western States Communication Association Forensics Tournament on February 17-19. The tournament, which is part of the Western States Communication Association Conference, allowed students to engage in both forensics competition and conference presentations. At the tournament, the team had 15 final round appearances, winning six of the 12 events and closing out 3/4 of the semifinal round of open IPDA debate to secure the top spot for the tournament and reclaim the Best of the West Perpetual Traveling Trophy. In addition to graduate coach, Averie Vockel, serving as the Forensics Activity Coordinator for the conference and tournament, undergraduates Adelyn Kobe and Javier Tejeda, and graduate coaches Frankie Gigray and Ashton Poindexter, presented at the conference.

The team will begin its series of international and national championship tournaments to close out its season on March 9 by traveling to Tokyo, Japan for the International Forensics Association Championships.


Overall Awards:

  • 1st Place - Tournament Sweepstakes (4-year division)
    1st Place
    - Best in the West Perpetual Traveling Trophy

Individual Event Awards:

  • 1st Place Extemporaneous Speaking - Ryan Knippel
  • 1st Place Communication Analysis - Willow Wilson
  • 1st Place Persuasive Speaking - Adelyn Kobe
  • 1st Place Impromptu Speaking - Ryan Knippel
  • 1st Place Prose  Interpretation - Willow Wilson
  • 2nd Place Poetry Interpretation - Willow Wilson
  • 2nd Place Impromptu Speaking - Adelyn Kobe
  • 2nd Place Drama Interpretation - Javier Tejeda
  • 2nd Place Informative Speaking - Adelyn Kobe
  • 3rd Place Extemporaneous Speaking - Madeleine Felix
  • 5th Place Poetry Interpretation - Javier Tejeda

Debate Awards:

  • 1st Place (co-champions) - Open IPDA – Adelyn Kobe
  • 1st Place (co-champions) - Open IPDA – Ryan Knippel
  • 1st Place (co-champions) - Open IPDA - Javier Tejeda
  • 3rd Place Novice IPDA - Claire Poche


Last Updated: 2/21/23