Skip to content

Department of Communication Faculty & Grad Students Earn Awards, Honors

The amazing faculty and graduate students of the Department of Communication have been honored again and again this year for their outstanding achievements. Here's a look at what they've been doing:

Communication logoAwards

Professor Robin Jensen was nominated for and received the 2015 Professor Recognition Award from the U's Mortar Board Senior Honors Society and the Order of Omega Greek Honors Society. She was honored at a banquet Dec. 1 as an acknowledgement of her excellence in teaching and her exceptional service as a professor. 

2015 National Communication Association (NCA)

Congratulations to our incredibly faculty and graduate students for winning multiple top honors at the annual NCA convention held Nov. 19-21, 2015, in Las Vegas, Nevada!

Professor and Chair Kent A. Ono was awarded:

  • Distinguished Scholar Award for the Critical and Cultural Studies Division
  • Teachers on Teaching “Teaching Award”
  • Distinguished Scholar Award for the Rhetoric and Communication Theory Division 

Professor Danielle Endres won the Christine L. Oravec Award from the Environmental Communication division for her book chapter: William J. Kinsella, Dorothy Andreas, & Danielle Endres, “Communicating Nuclear Power: A Programmatic Review,” Communication Yearbook 39, ed. Elisa Cohen (New York, NY: Routledge, 2015), 277-310.

Professor Robin Jensen was awarded:

Megan McFarlane was awarded:

  • Outstanding Dissertation Award for the Critical and Cultural Studies Division 
  • Top Student Paper for the Organizational Communication Division 
  • Top Paper Panel for the Organizational Communication Division 
  • Top Paper Overall for the Organizational Communication Division 

Ana Gomez Parga was awarded Top Student Paper for the Latino/a Studies Division and La Raza Caucus for her paper titled, "Que no te eduque la Rosa de Guadalupe: Preserving Sexism through Telenovelas" 

Ian Summers was awarded Top Student Paper in the Visual Communication Division for his paper titled, "Some folks are born made to wave the flag: Dissensus and subjectification in protest banners"

Additional Awards 

Congratulations to all!

Last Updated: 2/1/22